Exploring Science, Mathematics and Consciousness

In summary: Welcome to PF!I think you will be a wonderful addition to this wonderful website.Welcome!I'm a musician, which is why I love this website - it's full of information that is relevant to my field.I'm a "right-brained" person which means that I have a more intuitive approach to things. I can be of immense value to any of our visitors or members who are...umm...left-brained.Welcome!I'm a musician, which is why I love this website - it's full of information that is relevant to my field.I'm a "right-brained" person which means that I have a more intuitive approach to things. I
dimensional
Hello everyone, I just decided to register here after stumbling upon this place a few days ago. After lurking for some considerable amount of time reading all sorts of intellectually and philosophically stimulating topics, I figured I should join because this is just the sort of message board I was looking for.

I'll tell you a bit about myself first, I guess. I'm not a scientist, mathematician or a philosopher of any sort if we define ourselves by trade/study. My background is actually in music composition and production, which I've been doing for 12 years now. I won't get into all of that right now though because I came here to learn and read about physics and other sciences.

My formal knowledges are a rather lacking, however I'm working on that now. I'd like to begin re-immersing myself into the scientific world, especially mathematics. My ultimate goal is to return to the realms of higher education to receive a second degree, hopefully in some kind of physics. I'm very intrigued by the "fringe" fields that boggle even the greatest scientific minds. More specifically (and not surprisingly of course) I'm into things like String/M-Theory and other theories of quantum gravity. I'm also interested in consciousness and other "hard" problems.