Engineering Major: Can I Still Pursue My Dream?

In summary, if you have a good understanding of basic arithmetic and algebra, you have a good starting point for calculus. However, it is important to have a strong foundation in math before attempting calculus, as it can be challenging.
Starcrossed97
Hi everyone, I am currently a first year undergraduate student. I have recently decided to follow my passion which is Space Exploration so I've decided to get a Mech. Engineering degree (my school doesn't have Aerospace) I am an Undeclared major at the moment and hope to apply to the School of Engineering next fall. The only problem is math is not my best subject I'm not a genius when it come to it but I am willing to work my ass off to get to where I need to be. Would it even be possible for me to get in if I'm not all that good at math? And btw I plan to get my masters in Aerospace or Astronautical Engineering.

Physics news on Phys.org
Starcrossed97 said:
Hi everyone, I am currently a first year undergraduate student. I have recently decided to follow my passion which is Space Exploration so I've decided to get a Mech. Engineering degree (my school doesn't have Aerospace) I am an Undeclared major at the moment and hope to apply to the School of Engineering next fall. The only problem is math is not my best subject I'm not a genius when it come to it but I am willing to work my ass off to get to where I need to be. Would it even be possible for me to get in if I'm not all that good at math? And btw I plan to get my masters in Aerospace or Astronautical Engineering.
An engineering major is difficult to tackle if math is not your best subject. The coursework in any engineering major, particularly the basic undergrad curriculum, is chock full of math courses and courses whose successful completion depend on the student's having a good knowledge of math.