Does Course Load Really Matter for Grad School?

In summary: I think you'll find that a more comprehensive course load will give you a stronger foundation upon which to build your graduate studies.In summary, reducing your course load to something less than standard can backfire and you should only do this if you can handle it intellectually. Research is an important part of getting into grad school, so make sure you have a coherent statement of purpose and a plan for accomplishing it.
Typhon4ever
Hi, I'm a sophomore undergrad and recently I've been wondering how much weight grad schools in the sciences actually put into your "course load." I've read some conflicting views on the internet, books on grad school admissions, and faculty. The websites for some grad/professional schools list course rigor as one method of judging an applicant, but I am skeptical about those claims.

I'm taking the minimum amount of units at my school right now, 13 but it's in courses that I have had difficulty before in the past not to mention I plan on engaging in research in my department which will noticeably cut down on my time. I don't have a problem with units and graduating within 4 years; in fact, I can take the minimum amount of units per semester in my current situation and still graduate a year early. I see no point in taking extra classes for the sake increasing my unit count just to show a "full course load" when I can do research and get a job.
Should I take an extra class and potentially sacrifice my gpa or leave less time to pursue research just to say I took a "full" course load? Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
"Course load" is not the right way to look at it. "Learning the minimum" and "not taking advantage of all the opportunities" are what you don't want people to be thinking.

I am a phd student myself. I think:

-It is better to take less courses and get good grades.
-Grades matter much more than a full course load.