Deciding on an REU - What looks best to grad schools?

In summary, both schools have top ten physics programs and offer great research opportunities. However, the one I did last year has a bit more prestige and is a 9 week program.
chickenwing71
I'm a sophomore this year at a small liberal arts school - I've heard back on most of my physics REU program applications now, and have narrowed it down to two I'm seriously considering. However, I was in one of the programs last summer.

Further complicating things, if I go with the one I did last year, I'll be working with a professor I already know, and I'll be able to extend the research a few weeks beyond the REU program (making for 13 or so weeks). On the other hand, the research at the other school seems more interesting to me (but only a 9 week program).

Both are top ten schools in physics, though the one I did last year ranks a bit higher and has a little more prestige.

I know both will make for a fantastic experience, but how would graduate schools perceive doing the same program twice? Would it look better to a graduate school to be in one program two years in a row, or in two different programs for a more varied experience?

Physics news on Phys.org
I doubt they would really care that you did the same program twice. Your research will be different, maybe not the topic but you will be at a different point in the research. Something to think about though is letters of recommendations. You will need at least three so working for someone else will give you another option. You want to avoid having to ask a professor for a LOR when all you did was take a class with them. Its much better if you did research work for them.

In my experience as a member of a committee (as a graduate student member on the committee at CU Boulder, about 5 years ago), there are, unfortunately two ways to look at this: