Coriolis Effect - Vertical Shot, solution through integration?

In summary, the conversation is about a user's first time on a forum and their question about a physics problem involving a projectile being shot vertically into the air. The solution involves calculating the time and distance of the projectile's flight and includes assumptions about the Earth being an ideal globe. The user also mentions not receiving any replies to their post.
Malor
Hi, it's my first time on these forum, so I hope that I made this post correctly.

I have an example solution to this problem using tensors and matrices ^^ but I wanted to solve the problem in a different way and would like some feedback on whether or not this solution is correct.

Homework Statement

A gun shoots a projectile vertically into the air with an exit velocity of vvert=60ms-1 (assuming the nozzle is at sea level). Calculate the distance Δs, between the starting point and landing point of the projectile. Do this for the latitudes 0° and 51°. (neglect cascading effects)2. The attempt at a solution

Getting the time t for the whole process is a no-brainer:

v(t) = 0 = vvert-gt , g = const. => t1 = 6.1s => ttotal = 12.2s

Now to calculate Δs:

We assume that the Earth is an ideal globe, with a radius r = 6370000km. Basic geometry tells us that the distance from the axis of rotation is
R = sqrt(h(2r-h)) => R = sqrt(r²-r²sin²(α)) , α...latitude => R = r*cos(α)

The circumference of r(t) is the gives us the orbital velocity vB = const.:

r(t) = r + ∫v(t)dt

2∏r(0)/d = vB , d...day

vB is constant => ω can not be constant:

ω(t) = vB1/vB21 = u1/u21 = r/r(t)*ω1 (R1/R2 = r1/r2)

Angular acceleration: w'(t) = - (r*v(t))/(r+∫v(t)dt)² * ω1

Δω = ω1 ∫ -(r*v(t))/(r+∫v(t)dt)² dt

Δs = Δω*R*t = r*cos(α)*t*ω1 ∫ -(r*v(t))/(r+∫v(t)dt)² dt

Thank you for your troubles.

Physics news on Phys.org
150 views, no replies... did I put this in the wrong section? ;)

bumb