Conversion of physics degree to meng in aerospace

In summary, the conversation is about the possibility of the speaker, who is in their final year of a Physics BSc, moving to an Aerospace MEng after graduation. They have concerns about their grade and whether they will need to do a conversion supplementary year. A friend with a 3.6+ GPA in Physics and a Masters in Aerospace is currently applying to PhD programs and doing research with NASA. The speaker's GPA equivalent is 3.0 and they are worried their potential BSc grade may be too low for a conversion program. However, others have been accepted into engineering programs with a similar GPA due to their research and internship experience.
Phyll999
I am in my final year doing a physics bsc but max i can achieve is a 2.2 grade.
I'm looking to do a conversion to an aerospace MEng after graduation, however i'd like to ask;

1. Do you think typically I could move to an M Eng course ( 1 year )directly after getting the degree?
2. Would I typically need to do a conversion supplementary year ?
3. Will my grade at Physics determine whether this is possible, since only top grades would typically be accepted for MEng course directly?

Physics news on Phys.org
A good friend of mine graduated with a BS in physics and just finished up a masters in aerospace. I believe now she is applying to Phd programs and is doing research with NASA AMES(sp?). She has a 3.6+ gpa though. If your 2.2 is out of a 4.0 then I suspect that this will be much to low in order to get into a MEng but you never know. Good luck to you!

Thanks the gpa equivalent is 3.0 to a uk 2.2.
My concern was whilst i thought it was possible, my potential bsc grade would be too low for a conversion, and they would only take gpa 3.5's or above.