Control Engineer in a Power Company?

In summary: Controls engineering isn't my field, but I'm not sure it needs to be in this case. Can you direct these questions to your employer? Someone willing to pay for your education probably has some ideas about this.
airer
I am a first year student in MSc Automation and Control Engineering in Politecnico di Milano. I was working as a Power Protection Engineer before my company decided to send me to do my Masters in the above mentioned degree. The management thought it necessary to at least have someone specialized in Control Systems and that someone happens to be me.
About the Company: it is the National company of my country responsible for Generating, Transmitting and Distributing Power. Neither the Generation System, The Dispatch Center, nor the Transmission and Distribution System is automated.
My questions now are, How would I be useful to this company? What will be my routine job after graduating? Which area of Control Systems would be useful?

Physics news on Phys.org
Controls engineering isn't my field, but I'm not sure it needs to be in this case. Can you direct these questions to your employer? Someone willing to pay for your education probably has some ideas about this.

Thank you Ben. Yes, I asked them but all they say is "at least a control engineer is needed in the company, lot of projects are on the way concerning automating the grid and bla bla". No thorough insight!

airer said:
... Neither the Generation System, The Dispatch Center, nor the Transmission and Distribution System is automated.

Sorry, but I don't believe you are correct here. What happens when someone turns on a big motor in a factory? Or even switching on a light?

To clarify, the automation devices in place are antiquated. We still go with pick-ups for load shedding. The frequency relays and other important devices are mostly bypassed.