Changing my field of specialization

In summary, the individual is a first year master student in Theoretical Physics who is considering changing their field of study to Statistical Physics applied to neurosciences due to concerns about over-saturation and a desire to have a job with real-world applicability. They have some concerns about their lack of knowledge in this field and the potential for additional expenses and time. They are seeking advice and information on the field and potential career opportunities.
frys
Short summary: I'd like to receive some advice on changing my field of study, transitioning from theoretical hep to something like Statistical Physics applied to neurosciences, but I don't know anything about the latter. Thank you in advance for the patience!

Some background: I'm a first year master student in Theoretical Physics, and I live in Southern Europe. I started my master program (2 years total length) with the idea of getting into research (specifically HEP-theoretical particle physics) and academia after doing a PhD (and a necessary post-doc). I therefore strongly oriented all my classes towards HEP exams, mainly particle physics, quantum field theory and general relativity.

The main issue is that I'm becoming more and more disenchanted about the job I was looking for, for the following reasons:
  • I'm starting to be concerned about over-saturation: it seems to me that theoretical HEP is one of the most over-saturated fields in physics (I'd like to know what do you think about that, too). I am becoming more and more convinced that it doesn't really make sense (at least practically speaking, neglecting the beauty and passion about the subject) to study until my 30s and then struggle to find a stable position, due to the lack of available positions caused by poor funding allocation.