How do you keep track of scientific literature in your field?

In summary, the student is trying to form habits that will make him a successful researcher, one of which is reading a lot and taking notes. The software Obsidian can be helpful in this process.
vassalloef
Hello everyone,

I am an undergraduate student doing research in theoretical physics. Next fall will be my senior year, so, in anticipation of going to grad school, I am trying to take advantage of the opportunity I have to do research this summer to form some of the habits that make a good researcher.

One of the things that I have struggled with is keeping up with the literature in my field. It always seems like my professors can quote me at least ten papers off the top of their head in relation to any niche question that exists, whereas I am barely aware of the few papers that I'm trying to understand at the moment.

Now, since I'm new in this field (I was doing AMO research until last semester) I recognize that I couldn't possibly know as much as a professor who has been working in this area for decades. However, I still want to start preparing for when I actually have to spend several years doing research on one subject in grad school. So, here's my question: how do you keep up to date with the advances/publications/literature in your field? I am especially interested in learning about what kinds of habits you have formed over the years and how you execute them.

Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
There's a software tool called Obsidian that can help you create a kind of wiki collection of notes.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Obsidian_(software)

https://obsidian.md/

The unique features of Obsidian are:
- all notes are in markdown (easily edited text-based file format)
- equations can be entered into your notes using latex notation (rendered by mathjax)
- images can be inserted into your notes
- program source code can be inserted with major language syntax highlighting supported