Can Entropy Theory Explain Economic Systems?

• Thread starter Steven Vincent
  • Start date
In summary, entropy theory posits that economic systems are inherently chaotic and unpredictable due to their complex and interconnected nature. This theory suggests that the constant flow of energy and resources through an economic system leads to a gradual decline in order and organization, ultimately resulting in economic crises and fluctuations. However, critics argue that while entropy theory may offer valuable insights into the dynamics of economic systems, it cannot fully explain the complexities and nuances of human behavior and decision-making in the economy. Ultimately, the applicability of entropy theory in explaining economic systems remains a subject of ongoing debate and research.
Steven Vincent
How did you find PF?
google
Hi. I'm an economist working on a generalized physical theory of entropy to be applied to economic systems. This would fall under the general rubric of Systems Theory, Emergence Theory, Self-organization and Social Entropy Theory. I blog on the financial system/markets at [link deleted by the Mentors]

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes berkeman
Physics news on Phys.org
This subject reminds me of this post I made a while ago about Cesar Hidalgo’s 2015 book: “Why Information Grows”.
Interesting stuff to me anyway.

Thanks. I read the blurb on Amazon and I got the impression he was looking at Information in the Stiglitz way as an economic product/asset/entity rather than the Shannon Entropy way, which is what I am really interested in. Is that correct?

Could be. Not sure what Stiglitz way is, but the Shannon way.
The argument is an accumulation of complexity able to generate a greater more and different products.
I think he consults on economic development.
My personal interest is in its application to biology.

Steven Vincent said:
How did you find PF?: google