Calculating Earth's Shape as an Ellipsoid

In summary, an engineering student's professor gave a homework to calculate the real shape of the Earth (as an ellipsoid), considering centrifugal force. They used the equation ∇p + ρg + ρa = 0 and solved for Earth as a sphere. However, the professor said that there are different types of ellipsoids, so the student attempted to find an equation for an ellipsoid that produces an approximate ellipse in the x-z plane.
norsktramp

Homework Statement

I'm an engineering student, and my professor of the mechanics course gave a homework to my class last week, we were intended to calculate the real shape of the Earth (as an ellipsoid) by taking the centrifugal force in account, using the equation [itex]a' = a -wX(wXr)[/itex]. For that, we also used Euler's equation [itex]∇p + ρg + ρa = 0 .[/itex] My professor then solved the problem considering Earth as a sphere, as I'm going to show it below. So my question is, how can I calculate the shape of the Earth (as an ellipsoid).

Variables and meaning : ∇p = gradient of pressure, a' = aceleration in a non inercial reference, w = angular velocity, g = gravity. (all of them are vectors)

Homework Equations

He told us that in a non inercial reference, the imaginary acelerations could be considered as a field aceleration, so he combined Euler's formula with the centrifugal force, by substituting it in the place of gravity. so we got:[tex]∇p -ρ[wX(wXr)] + ρa = 0.[/tex]

a = GM/r2 runitary = GM/r3 rvector,[tex]r^2 = x^2 + z^2[/tex].

considering w in the z axis we will obtain a relation for ∂p/∂x and ∂p/∂z, then we will solve the equation obtaining: [tex]p(x,z) = -ρGM/(√x^2 + z^2) -ρw^2*x^2/2 + C[/tex] C being a constant.

considering p as: [itex]p(0,R) = po = -ρGM/R + C[/itex], we obtain [itex]C = po + ρGM/R[/itex]
so [tex] p(x,z) = -ρGM/(√x^2 + z^2) -ρw^2*x^2/2 + po + ρGM/R[/tex]
To find the formula of the surface of the Earth we got to make p = po.