Biomedical Engineering considering Applied Physics

In summary, the student is considering switching their major from pre-med to applied physics with a medical physics track, but is concerned about not having enough upper level physics classes to meet graduate program requirements. They are also unsure if they will be able to handle the workload in upper level physics classes and are considering taking a year off to take additional classes at a local university. They are also unsure if a research project in BME, unrelated to medical physics, is worth pursuing. It is recommended that they talk to their academic advisor and research the success of graduates from the applied physics program in getting into medical physics graduate programs. They are also encouraged to take advantage of the research opportunity and focus on developing transferrable skills.
Derlin18
Hello everyone! This is my first time posting on here so idk if I'm under the right forum lol. I am an undergad in BME and WAS on the pre-med track. I always "wanted" to be a doctor just because I didn't really know much about other careers but also A LOT OF FAMILY PRESSURE. I finally decided to just stop with this pre-med nonsense since I get no enjoyment out of it and it's not something I see myself doing. I have been looking into medical physics for a couple of years now and attended a seminar from someone working in the field and I have really fallen in love with the career. However, since I am a rising junior my schedule would only permit for me to take one upper level physics class and many graduate programs require at least 15 credits in physics total. I have taken 3- calculus based level physics classes. Coming into college I never took calculus or physics so first semester was tough and I got a B-. In my other physics classes I got a B and B+. Tbh I didn't have much time to study but I think I did okay in the classes. What I don't know is if I would be able to handle upper level physics classes if I