Bioinformatics and Computational Biology? What is it really like?

In summary, a high school student is interested in pursuing a career that combines math and biology and is seeking information about computational biology and bioinformatics programs. They are interested in personal experiences, job prospects, and daily tasks. The field is relatively new and there may be better opportunities with a double major or in related fields such as finance. Additionally, the student is considering majoring in applied math and is open to exploring other interests. They are advised to consider their own passions and take advice with a grain of salt.
bublik13
Hello, I am a high-school student applying to universities. I like math, and I like bio. I want a career that is the cross-section between these two subjects.

I've been told about computational biology and bioinformatics. Can anyone please share any familiar experiences or any insight related to these programs?
I want to know about these programs from a more personal and realistic point of view, ex. how satisfied people are with studying computational biology/ bioinformatics, the job prospects (I don't care about salary as long as there are interesting jobs available), what day-to-day tasks are like, etc.

Any help, information, personal experiences, recommendations or insight would be greatly appreciated.

:)

Physics news on Phys.org
You know when I was applying for graduate schools computational biology and bioinformatics programs within universities had maybe only been on the scene for a few years, but I hear now that some places offer undergraduate programs in bioinformatics which sadly I've also heard you are better off double majoring.

So I guess it really depends on how far you were willing to go in your education.

daveyinaz said: