Being a TA just for grad school

In summary: It's more of a job to me than a way to learn or grow.In summary, being a mathematics TA at a college or university does not seem to be a very beneficial job. It can be tedious and you may not be very well-prepared for graduate school. However, it is an experience that may help you in your academic career.
ehrenfest
I am an undergraduate math major. Does it make sense to be a TA even if I don't need the money? I am asking because I want to get into the best mathematics grad school possible. At my school, being a mathematics TA basically means grading tests and homework assignments. It is kind of tedious work, so I don't want to do it unless its something grad schools really look for.

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't think you need it for grad school, I mean what that they look is at grades first a foremost and afterwards for letters of recommendations, at least that is my impression from scouring the net.

I'm not sure how much it matters for graduate admission...
...but here's some positive things about doing it.

You get some experience in being a TA, which you might be for part of your time in grad school. So, you may have a [slight] competitive edge for that.

You may become more conscientious about students and how they learn and what misconceptions they have. This could get you thinking about "teaching", which could be a useful skill to develop towards an academic career. "One way to really learn something is to teach it." Certainly, it would be better to be teaching in front of the class rather than behind the scenes as a grader... but I guess one has to start somewhere. (This aspect is something that, I think, many graduate students don't consider until later in their careers if at all... since "teaching" is often not on the mind of the graduate student... until one is looking for a faculty position.)