Balance proves gravity isn't a force

In summary, a weight balance with two unequal masses on the two arms comes to rest after tilting a few degrees. If one of the masses really experienced a greater force, then there is no reason why the balance shouldn't tilt 90 degrees.
vin300
consider a weight balance with two unequal masses on the two arms.It comes to rest after tilting a few degrees. If one of the masses really experienced a greater force, then there is no reason why the balance shouldn't tilt 90 degrees

Physics news on Phys.org
What kind of scale is this that comes to rest after tilting a few degrees? I'm not a scale expert, but I think the kind of scale you are envisioning has a counter-weight on it, that you adjust to achieve equilibrium.

vin300 said:
consider a weight balance with two unequal masses on the two arms.It comes to rest after tilting a few degrees. If one of the masses really experienced a greater force, then there is no reason why the balance shouldn't tilt 90 degrees
Only because there is friction in the pivot. If you have a a balance with no (or very little) friction it will tile 90 degrees.

What kind of scale is this that comes to rest after tilting a few degrees?
They place the center pivot a little bit higher than the eyes where you attach the pan. (http://visual.merriam-webster.com/images/science/measuring-devices/measure-weight/beam-balance.jpg" ).
That proves that they know how to build balances, but nothing about gravity.

Last edited by a moderator:
I think other posters have already answered it, but I'm curious:
If gravity isn't a force, what is gravity?

Acut said:
I think other posters have already answered it, but I'm curious:
If gravity isn't a force, what is gravity?

Gravity is the effect of curvature of space-time rather than a force.

apolski said:
Gravity is the effect of curvature of space-time rather than a force.

To add: