Torque and forces (Beginner level)

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem involving a tilted rod supported by a hinge and a string. The problem is to calculate the forces at the hinge and string in case 3, where the rod is subject to a downward force from gravity. The rod has a weight of 50 N and is 4.0 meters in length at an angle of 65 degrees from the horizontal. The solution involves considering static equilibrium and using equations for forces and torques. The force from the hinge must act vertically, and the string only exerts a force in the direction along the string. The conversation also discusses the transition from all weight on the string to all weight on the lower end of the bar in case 2.
zimmer132123
Summary:: I am trying to figure out how much force that either end of a tilted rod are subjected to as a consequence of gravity. One end being attached to a hinge, the other to a string from above.

Hello, it's my first time on this forum. I have recently started learning about torque (Nm) and i have encountered my first problem.

As described in the included picture, i want to figure out how one would calculate the forces that point H (hinge) and the string in the other end are subjected to in case 3.

I did some simple calculations as examples, just to show how i understand things so far:

- When a one-dimensional line is horizontal, like in case 1, calculating the forces at those points that "carries" the line seems straight forward.

- On to case 2, suppose the line is balanced vertically, point H will be subjected to the whole weight of 50 N and therefore i excluded the string.

- Now, having a tilted line that is held up by point H and the string in the other end, as in case 3, i just can't seem to figure out how to calculate the forces that these ends are subjected to?