Assessing Grad. School Prospects

In summary: Your Name]In summary, the individual is considering pursuing a graduate degree in physics but is concerned about their lack of research experience. They plan to take more physics courses and seek out research opportunities to strengthen their application. Despite the challenges, they are encouraged to continue pursuing their academic aspirations in physics and explore all available options.
MisterX
Hi,

I got my degree in E.E. but I've been pretty interested in the physics, and I am evaluating my prospects of getting a graduate degree in that area.

I graduated with a Bachelors in Electrical Engineering GPA of about 3.8. However my school was near the bottom of the top 50 in rankings. I know I could have done better (I didn't even apply to any top schools even though I did pretty well in HS, but that's another story).

Crucially though I did not acquire any real research experience. Since then I have volunteered myself a number of times but I have had no success. It is much harder to get involved once you are no longer an undergraduate.

My intention would be to spend the next school year taking courses to fill out my knowledge and apply for graduate school by this winter. I already took some physics courses this spring and did well. I don't think I'd be able to put off applying for another year.

However from what I've seen I don't have a chance to get into any nice graduate school without that crucial research experience. This is saddening to me because I've been told my PGRE scores would be good enough to get into appealing schools (and I have a chance to improve on them further in the fall), and I think I would also get good recommendations from teaching professors since I tend to be an active participant & independent thinker as well as getting good grades. But without research experience my application would be culled, from what I am told.