Are supercomputers profitable?

• Thread starter Phylosopher
  • Start date
  • Tags
    business
In summary: It is also profitable to buy tractors and lend them for money. Does the same thing apply to supercomputers?Yes, the coupling between the processors is important for supercomputers.
Phylosopher
TL;DR Summary
Are supercomputers profitable?
I am wondering whether supercomputers are profitable! I am no computer engineer/scientist, but it seems that it could be. I tried to search on google, on whether supercomputers are in fact profitable, but I couldn't find a suitable source. Also, with the rise of cloud computing such as AWS, I feel that supercomputers, even if they were profitable in some way in the past, they are not anymore! Large companies like amazon and microsoft seem to dominate the scene. So what niche businesses actually need dedicated supercomputers, who would pay?

Note: Not sure if this is a suitable sub-forum

Engineering news on Phys.org
Phylosopher said:
I am wondering whether supercomputers are profitable!
It depends on what you mean by a supercomputer, and who makes the profit.
There are numerical simulations based on finite element analysis that justify supercomputers.
The close coupling between the processors is not possible with distributed processors or the cloud.

The people who run the programs seem to be happy with the results.

The people that make the supercomputers seem to be happy manufacturing and selling supercomputers.

Sounds a little like asking if tractor-trailer trucks are profitable.
If you are taking the family laundry to the laundromat, probably not.
If you are shipping 40 000 lbs of steel to the next town every week, probably.

Likes etotheipi and PeroK
Baluncore said:
It depends on what you mean by a supercomputer, and who makes the profit.
There are numerical simulations based on finite element analysis that justify supercomputers.