Are Physics Forums Monitored by Spy Agencies?

In summary: I have a physics degree myself, and was trained in the use of radioactive materials...In summary, the forum is being monitored for potential terrorist activity, but it does not seem that they are actually interested in monitoring it.
Loren Booda
Do U. S. Intelligence agencies (or other international spy entities) have any interest in monitoring Physics Forums? Subversive elements such as terrorists in search of classified material might seek to exploit our discussion group. (I recall early on in PF that a Middle Eastern person sought information on bomb making, and was quickly rebuffed.)

Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe we should identify the terrorists and give them false information? We could prove that the world is flat or something and that in order to blow up the US (which is on the other plane of our little flat world) they have to blow themselves up. Because we're right "below" them.

cookiemonster

Trust me, this forum is being monitored. I'd be willing to bet that the " Middle Eastern person" was an FBI agent testing the members here.

Does it really matter what people say here? How bombs work is fairly common knowledge. My grade 12 physics teacher (B.Sc. in physics) told the class how to make a fusion bomb.

Chemical bombs are also common knowledge, the only problem is actually obtaining the substances. For example, ammonium perchlorate is a very strong oxidizer and it's a very powerful explosive when mixed with certain organic material. Finding (or making) perchlorate is the challenge.

Another thing, how do you know it was a middle eastern person? Most people around here don't even fill out where they are from (some people have things like "Mars" listed as their location). If the guy is a terrorist not wanting to be found, he's not going to list his location as something like "Iran".

Last edited:
yes they are watching. Echelon is out there.