Applying to Math Grad school in Canada and the US

In summary, the speaker is a Canadian math undergrad at Caltech who is applying to grad school in both Canada and the US. They are unsure of their chances due to some early struggles in their academic record, but have since improved and taken advanced classes in their areas of interest. They are wondering if grad schools will take into account their GPA improvement over time, as well as if Canadian schools require a Masters degree before admission to a PhD program. They are also considering applying to top PhD programs in the US after obtaining a Masters degree.
jpa14
I’m a math undergrad at Caltech. I’m applying to grad school soon and since I’m a Canadian citizen I’ll be applying to grad school in Canada. I’ll also be applying to some top programs in the United States, but I’m very unsure of my chances.

The thing is, due to a combination of personal issues and the fact that I wasn’t as good of a student back then as I am now, there were several terms in late frosh year/early sophomore year where I didn’t do very well. That is why, despite the fact that my GPA has ranged between 3.5 and 3.9 for the last four terms, my overall is only 3.2, and there are some pretty ugly dents in the early part of my transcript.

I’m quite sure I can get good letters of recommendation from my research mentors, since I am doing research this summer and it is going well. I’m hoping to be able to get into a top program in Canada for number theory/algebraic geometry. Am I likely to be accepted into somewhere like Waterloo or UofT or UBC for this?

I’m less sure about Berkeley/MIT/Stanford etc. etc. My question is:

-Will grad schools take into account this GPA improvement over time?