Applied Physics and an Engineering Program in NL

In summary: I knew some people that traveled >5h each day to uni. But I admit it's not something I would do myself.Another (naive perhaps) idea: why not complete your first year... or two... at a college in a different country?I think it would be a great idea to try that. Once you've finished your undergraduate degree, it would be much easier to transfer to a different university.
KiwiKid
Hello everyone, I'm new to PF. (My favorite fish is herring, so slap away. :smile:)

My question might be a bit complicated, because I suspect the answer depends a lot on location. I live in the Netherlands, and that's where I'm going to uni in september. (Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, RuG) I'm going to do Applied Physics for my undergrad studies, and I'm wondering whether this would make it possible for me to go to grad school for a MSc or PhD in an engineering field - probably ME or EE (as I ultimately want to become an engineer).

The reason I'm not going to a college in a different part of town (The RuG doesn't offer engineering degrees apart from applied physics, which technically is an engineering degree where I live) in the first place are mostly because of financial reasons (but also for a few others I won't mention here). However, I am probably able to move to another town/country/planet for graduate studies.

Applied Physics at the RuG is pretty much physics with a few different courses (e.g. Materials Science instead of Geophysics, that kind of thing). I would post a link to the degree requirements, but I need to make ten posts first. :/ Mod note: course contents is here: http://www.rug.nl/ocasys/rug/vak/showpos?opleiding=4967

In any case, some advice would be very much appreciated. :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Anyone?

Hi KiwiKid, welcome to the forums!

If you'd like to go to graduate school for EE or ME and become an engineer, why not do your undergraduate degree in EE or ME?

bcbwilla said: