Applied mathematician, amateur logician, amateur philosopher

• Thread starter gentzen
  • Start date
In summary, an applied mathematician is a professional who uses mathematical principles to solve real-world problems, while an amateur logician is someone who enjoys studying and practicing logic as a hobby. Similarly, an amateur philosopher is a person who engages in philosophical thinking and discussions as a non-professional pursuit. These three roles may overlap in their use of critical thinking and problem-solving skills, but they differ in their level of expertise and formal training.
gentzen
Science Advisor
Gold Member
I am an applied mathematician working in semiconductor manufacturing. This means stuff like optical lithography, ebeam lithography, resist development processes, etching processes, optical metrology, scanning electron beam metrology, and other related physical or chemical processes. I do work with physicists on a daily basis, but I am not a physicists myself. I took that career path long ago because in my experience, establishing friendly relationships with physicists was easy.

However, that is not the reason why I am here. There recently was a thread Consistent Histories solipsism? in the Quantum Interpretations and Foundations subforum. I subscribed to be able to say some clarifying words about consistent histories, if needed. However, Morbert did a better job than I could have done at clarifying those misconceptions, so there was no need for me to get actively involved. I had tried to publicly defend and clarify consistent histories at one point before:
Around 2005, I read (or rather browsed) “Understanding Quantum Mechanics” by Roland Omnès, and it was the first time that I felt that the material was presented in a way that I would understand it, if I invested the time to work through it. It felt like “let me calculate and explain” as opposed to “don’t ask questions, nobody understands QM anyway”.