AP vs. IB: Advice from High Schoolers on Benefits & Admissions

In summary, I am unsure which pathway to choose. My high school offers Standard Level courses on almost all of their IB options, but I don't know if I am taking full advantage of opportunities at school since the IB Diploma program dictates every single course you must take. On the other hand, the AP is more widely used and while I know it is still strenuous, I don't know if it would be as prestigious as the IB. I've also heard that mixing the courses, taking a few IB here, a few AP there, is not always looked upon as the smartest idea by admissions officers.
theginger
Hello.

I'm a high school freshman who's in need of some advice from those who have gone through AP or IB. In your opinion, which is more beneficial and looks better on a high school transcript for universities such as Harvard, Stanford, or UC Berkeley?

I'm really unsure which pathway to choose. It is quoted on Harvard's admissions site that a student should acquire the most rigorous curriculum available. However, my high school only offers Standard Level courses on almost all of their IB options. I'd also feel like I wouldn't be taking full advantage of opportunities at school, since the IB Diploma program dictates every single course you must take, leaving one elective that I'd end up most likely using academically. AP on the other hand is more widely used, and while I know it is still strenuous, I don't know if it would be as prestigious as that of the IB. I've also heard that mixing the courses, taking a few IB here, a few AP there, is not always looked upon as the smartest idea by admissions officers.