AP textbooks for Physics and Calculus

In summary: People don't like the way it is organized. It's very dense and difficult to follow.In summary, the author recommends using a different book, College Physics, which is a book used in high school that has a "5" on the AP Physics B test.
Maddie1609
Hi,

I'm studying on my own for AP exams a year from now and need some advice on which books to get. I'm taking AP calculus (AB or BC, haven't decided yet), AP Physics 1, AP Physics 2, AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, and AP Physics C: Mechanics. I already have a Calculus book by Ron Larson, is this sufficient to prepare for the calculus exam?

Also, should I take AB or BC? Is BC a lot harder? Will universities be more forgiving of the score if I take BC over AB? Is it extremely hard to get a 5 in these exams? I've never taken an AP exam (or course).

Physics news on Phys.org
Does Fundamentals of Physics Extended by Halliday and Resnick (10th edition) cover everything in the AP physics exams?

Larson should be enough for ap calculus. Not sure for physics, but giancoli physics scientist and engineers, would cover what you need at that level. Out college introductory text cover the same msterial. It should not really matter if your aim is to pass ap test.

MidgetDwarf said:
Larson should be enough for ap calculus. Not sure for physics, but giancoli physics scientist and engineers, would cover what you need at that level. Out college introductory text cover the same msterial. It should not really matter if your aim is to pass ap test.
Thanks, I ordered fundamentals of physics extended, hopefully it's enough for at least AP Physics 1 and 2. What so you mean? Why shouldn't it matter? :smile: