Am I Screwed? (Undergrad Admissions)

• Admissions
  • Thread starter Angry Citizen
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Admissions
In summary: I'm not quite sure what.In summary, the student is looking into aerospace engineering options and is considering Texas A&M, U-Texas Arlington, and U-Texas. He is concerned about his lack of high school diploma and is considering completing a two year degree at a community college in order to have less of a weight on his application. He also plans to get a masters in something down the road.
Angry Citizen
I'm wanting to go into aerospace engineering. I'm looking at Texas A&M, U-Texas or U-Texas Arlington for my bachelors (grad school decisions will come later, I guess). Problem is, I don't know whether I can get in or not.

I'm a homeschooled student, and have been homeschooled since a little ways into 6th grade. Except, I wasn't homeschooled at all. Due to a freak combination of circumstances, I wound up teaching myself. My mathematics suffered horribly (ever try teaching yourself mathematics?). However, I'm very passionate about my education, so I certainly didn't waste my time entirely. And I hate to brag, but I don't exactly consider myself unintelligent -- just lacking in knowledge.

Well, with this background, I didn't even waste my money on the application fee for applying at the aforementioned schools. I chose to attend a community college to do 'the basics'. Unfortunately, these basics don't include chemistry (the one course I'll need is not transferable) or physics (the courses that transfer require Calculus I and II as corequisites). I am currently taking a precalculus course, and it would take an act of the Great Sky Fairy to cause me to not get an A. My GPA is 3.75 from last semester, and I have twelve credits to my name. This semester will net me an additional sixteen credits, and again, unless the Great Sky Fairy intervenes, I'm on track for A's in every class.