Advice for Women in Math: Overcome Inferiority Complex

• Thread starter Darius93
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Women
In summary: I wrong for thinking this way?If you want a mentor, your profs may not be the best place to look. Other departments may have female profs (statistics, chemistry, etc...not sure how big your school is). And as foo-foo as this my sound, maybe if your school has a Women's Studies program, you could ask one of the profs there for guidance. I bet they would know of several autobiographies of women who were in your situation, which may be inspiring.
Darius93
Hello, I'm just wondering if anyone has any advice to a women in such a male dominated field. I'm a sophomore-almost-junior math major, physics minor and as much as i try not to i can't help but feel somewhat inferior compared to my classmates, even when i KNOW i am doing just as well or better than my classmates.

So does anyone know of any good books, programs, anything that might be able to help me? I LOVE math but if i keep feeling so unwelcome, I'm thinking of changing my major out of science...

Physics news on Phys.org
If you switch your major out of the sciences, you contribute to sexual stereotypes.

A book called "Athena Unbound" written in 2001 deals with this topic specifically.

Other than that, you might try writing an email to other accomplished female scientists.

Perhaps Carolyn Porco, Danica McKellar, or maybe even Ayn Druyan who is not a scientist, but who is deeply interested in the topic.

It is difficult not to contribute to such stereotypes for most stereotypes are exaggerated truths. As a Caribbean American female who am I to look up to for guidance in my chosen field? It seems much easier to switch to an English major simply so I won't be alone.
I go to school in Oregon, all of my professors so far have been white Russian men.
Despite my desire to do math I can't help but feel out of place.