Advice for a Non-Traditional Physics Student

In summary, this Junior is a non-traditional student at a small private college in North Carolina majoring in Physics. He's planning on getting his Master's degree from NC State, and he's looking for advice on staying motivated, understanding the material, and balancing work, school, and a social life. He urges others to check with the NC engineering department to make sure they are on the right track for their program, to establish contacts, and to have a study schedule. He also recommends getting regular exercise and sleeping enough.
WillofMalazan
I am currently a Junior at a small, private college in North Carolina. I am going to my school because it is 25 minutes from my house, so I can commute rather easily. I am majoring in Physics, since the school doesn't offer degrees in Engineering. However, I do plan on getting my Master's in Engineering from NC State. I am also a non-traditional student (I am 27), which brings its own set of challenges. The reason I'm writing this thread is to get other people's advice about what I'm doing. I want this more than anything, but it seems like I have to fight twice as hard to understand the material, and trying to balance work, school, and a social life are challenging. If you guys have any advice or tips about staying motivated, understanding the material, or just general advice, I would appreciate it.

Physics news on Phys.org
I urge you to check with the NC engineering department to ask them what classes you should take to be well prepared for your Master's program. Do this now, to establish contacts and to make sure you are on the right track.

On your other points, I'm afraid I don't have specific advice. Balancing everything is hard for everyone and it may even be easier for older students, I think! I, too, was a non-traditional student. What helped me was keeping a study schedule - a routine. Also, if it takes you longer to "get" the material, don't take too many credits.