2015 Nobel Prize in Physics announcement

In summary: I am a layman :smile:Yes. In the case of neutrino oscillations, there are now several experiments that have measured the same phenomenon. This adds to the credibility of the original results and also allows for more precise measurements of the oscillation parameters. In summary, The 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald for their work on neutrino oscillations. This phenomenon was first observed by the Super-Kamiokande experiment in 1998, and was later confirmed and measured more precisely by the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory in 2001. This has greatly contributed to our understanding of neutrinos and their properties, and has opened up new
Orodruin
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author
Gold Member
Today we will learn who wins the 2015 Nobel Prize in physics. The announcement will be available online at 11.45 CET at the earliest (depending on whether or not they have taken a decision and been able to inform the laureates).

Link to announcement: http://www.kva.se/en/Events-List/2015/Announcement-of-the-Nobel-Prize-in-Physics-2015/

Likes PWiz, TSny and Telemachus
Physics news on Phys.org
It would be interesting to attend one of those. :smile:

You need a registration, a press ID, and to travel to Stockholm. I only have the last part covered - the Academy is order 1 km away from where I am sitting. :wink:
Later today we have a colloquium presentation of the Prize here at the AlbaNova University center.

Likes Telemachus
Neutrino oscillations! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Likes TheAnt, PWiz, Telemachus and 2 others
I think I know some experts on this subject ... :rolleyes:

Likes Borek, davidbenari and mfb
Orodruin said:
I think I know some experts on this subject ... :rolleyes: