Upper level physics classes, weak DiffEq

In summary: Trick is, I'm going to be taking 14 credits in the fall, so adding on another 3 or 4 credits on top of that would be very rough.In summary, it's possible to do well in upper level physics classes with a weak foundation in differential equations, but it's important to take a DE course first. There are good books available for self-study, but it's best to take a course at the college level.
Jack21222
Is it possible to do well in upper level physics classes with a weak foundation in differential equations?

I've never taken a DiffEq class. Some of the extreme basics were covered in Calc 2, and there will be a crash course in DiffEq in my Mathematical Methods in Physics class (using the Boas book.)

I plan on taking Mechanics next semester, but a senior student suggested I take an actual DiffEq class first.

The problem with that is I'm an older student (27), with a mortgage to pay and a full time job. I can't afford to go to college for an extra year, and putting off mechanics could throw me off my pace to graduate on time. It's only offered during fall semesters.

Luckily I have a job that allows me to study and do homework while at work, so I'm able to spend some time on the homework problems without losing any time outside of what I would have spent at work anyway.

Should I be able to pick up the DiffEq I need on the fly? Or is it imperitave that I take the time for an actual DiffEq class.

On a similar note, are there any good books designed for self-study of DiffEq I could grab for the summer?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
If our reasonably apt with math I would say just study DE's on your own. Its not that difficult really and mostly about learning computational methods. For self-study I don't know which book is best but also check out the MIT opencourseware videos lectures of DE's, the professor is pretty awesome.