Undergrad in mechanical engineering, masters in physics?

In summary: Idk if that would be enough or if id need to do some more math too.In summary, a masters in physics is possible after completing undergraduate work in mechanical engineering, but it requires taking a few more physics courses than the basic engineering physics courses that you would take in a mechanical engineering degree. If you strictly do an ME and apply for physics grad school, I'll say there's no chance because an ME degree has a completely different set of requirements than does a physics degree. A minor would be a better solution.
ekrim
I'm in my third year after bouncing around from physics, math, civil, and now mechanical engineering and find myself going through the motions on most of my coursework and projects. I spend my free time reading physics books like Planck's treatise on thermodynamics and in my classes only find the odd theoretical sections on fluids and thermo interesting. It would be nice if my hobbies and coursework could coincide, so although it's too late to switch now, I was wondering if a masters in physics is possible after I complete undergrad in mechanical? If so, what's involved? I've only taken the three university physics courses which engineers take and have taken 8 math courses

I appreciate any input, thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
ekrim said: