Switching from phenomenology Masters to machine learning PhD

In summary, you should tell your advisor that you plan to complete your master's project, but you might want to book time for a face-to-face meeting to discuss your future academic aspirations.
spaghetti3451
I am doing a Masters in theoretical physics. It's been half a year since I've begun my Masters.

Recently, I find myself intrigued by machine learning and would like to do a PhD in machine learning after I finish my Masters in theoretical physics.

I am rather afraid to break it to my supervisor that I plan to move into machine learning after my Masters. I am also afraid how he might react if he finds out that I am taking courses in the Computer Science department. I plan to work with machine learning profs to get two recommendation letters, but I guess I must have a third letter from my physics supervisor. I am afraid that he will not write me a good letter for PhD admission into machine learning.

What should I do?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
So you are withholding information from your advisor that he has a right to know - and is likely to find out - and are afraid this will come out in your letters? ("He wasn't honest with me, but maybe that's OK - he might be honest with you. Can't really tell, can we?") You're right to worry, but I am not sure what we can do about it.

Okay, I guess I will have to tell my supervisor immediately that my interest has shifted to machine learning.

He might get angry with me for having taken me in as his student, as it's been only six months into the program and my focus has shifted.