Struggling in Diff Eq Class: Advice for a Ditzy Freshman

In summary, this freshman is struggling in a difficult class. He is intimidated by his classmates and is running low on energy. He is considering asking for help from his professor, but is also considering other options.
NM18
I'm a 2nd-semester freshman taking my first upper-level class (partial diff eq) and I'm really struggling. People always ask me what I'm doing in that class as a freshman and I answer by telling them I'm an idiot and a masochist, which is true. I've spent most of my time and energy on that class and have neglected my other classes, which I didn't even realize until getting a 67 on my physics test last week (but I'm in a study group for that now and I already feel like I'm making a speedy recovery). Anyway, I had my test for the tough class a few days ago and ended up finishing about a third of the exam. I'm going to talk to my professor tomorrow, but honestly, I don't know what to do.

I took ODE last semester and ended up getting an A easily. Sometimes I felt like the class was annoyingly easy, and I confidently answered most of the questions my professor asked during class. But this semester, even though I can absorb the lectures, I'm afraid of saying a single word, even when the answer in my head is correct. I'm scared of my professor for no reason, even though everyone says he's really nice. I'm intimidated by all my classmates and feel like I should keep my mouth shut to avoid making a fool of myself in front of all those intelligent minds. Even the classroom has a sinister feel to it. I think my problem is that I'm shaky on multivar.

This is not the first time I've bitten off more than I could chew. That being said, I think I might have actually gotten myself into big trouble this time. I don't know how I'll get myself out of THIS mess. Did any of you struggle with your first "advanced" class? Any advice/success stories for a ditzy little fool like me?

Physics news on Phys.org