Recommendations for a good, basic level Physics book?

In summary, the conversation is about someone looking for a book that explains physics at an absolute beginner level in simple terms, with some math included. They prefer a fun and recreational read rather than a textbook. Some book recommendations are given, including "MC2: Simple Physics for Balloons and Balls" and "Understanding Physics" by Isaac Asimov. Another book, "The Big Book of Physics and Math," is also suggested.
NextElement
I'm looking for a book to explain Physics at an absolute beginner level.

This is not something I'm trying to study or memorize, so I'd rather it not be a textbook, but rather a book that tells of different parts of physics (gravity, electricity, mechanics) in simple terms that the "average" person can understand. I don't mind a little math, either. I'm basically just looking for a fun, recreational physics read.

Any book recommendations?

Physics news on Phys.org
NextElement said:
I'm basically just looking for a fun, recreational physics read.
I like to these writers

Wow.. don't even think to start with "road to reality" by penrose although it is a very good book it gets VERY hard too soon.

Understanding Physics, by Isaac Asimov, would probably be good for you.

I picked up "The Big Book of Physics and Math" and I'm loving it so far!

Related to Recommendations for a good, basic level Physics book?

1. What are the key topics that should be covered in a good, basic level Physics book?

A good, basic level Physics book should cover topics such as mechanics, thermodynamics, electromagnetism, optics, and modern physics. These are fundamental concepts that are essential for understanding the principles of physics.

2. Are there any recommended authors or publishers for Physics books?