Reading Bishop & Goldberg's Tensor Analysis: Prerequisites for Physicists

In summary: FQ4NvfHxvkIn summary, a graduate student in physics finds that his mathematical background is lacking for the work he does and decides to learn more rigorously. He is frustrated because he does not feel like he really understands what is going on and wants to overcome this problem. He finds a resource that helps him and starts to learn more about mathematics. He faces the same problems in math as in physics, which is that sometimes he can do everything rigorously and solve all the textbook problems, but he still does not feel like he understands it.
mjordan2nd
I am a graduate student in physics. One of my biggest frustrations in my education is that I often find that my mathematical background is lacking for the work I do. Sure I can make calculations adequately, well enough to even do well in my courses, but I don't feel like I really understand what's going on. To combat this problem I have decided to learn mathematics a bit more rigorously.

At this point I would like to learn a bit of differential geometry, some abstract algebra, and some functional analysis. The problem is, I don't really know where to begin. As an undergraduate I took linear algebra, ODEs, PDEs, and vector analysis. Those were more or less the only courses I took beyond Calculus I-III. As a graduate student I have taken your typical math methods course out of Arfken and Weber. These courses have not prepared me to read a book written for mathematicians.

I recently picked up Bishop and Goldberg's Tensor Analysis on Manifolds, however the book looks quite daunting to me. It is in a language I am not entirely familiar with. My question is what are the mathematical prerequisites to begin reading a book such as that. What should I read before I ever pick up these math books? Is there a quick intro into the language of mathematicians for physicists?

Physics news on Phys.org