Physics or Electrical Engineering

In summary, the speaker is a 30-year-old software professional who is considering going back to school for a PhD in EE, despite being more interested in theoretical or mathematical physics. They have a family with two children and are the sole source of income, making it a difficult decision. They are also unsure if they should complete their PhD in EE and pursue physics as a hobby, or go for an MS in mathematics and then a PhD in physics. They have seen others with a similar background successfully pursue a PhD in physics, but are unsure of the cost and are currently in a dilemma about what to do.
hariyo
I am in serious dilemma what to choose. I work as software profession till now for 5 yrs and I am already 30 yrs old.Lately I was thinking going back to school and apply for EE(signal procession or communication or RF) for phd. I got admission on them too but I am least interested onto it though I did my bachelor in electronics and telecom engineering.Here in US I did MS in CS some 5 yrs back.I really wanted to do phd before I become too old to do it.Now having family with 2 kids and me only source of income,it is tough but I am determine to do against all odds.
Now my question is I am more interested in Physics(theoretical or mathematical) and I dream of having phd in physics in my belt but I don't have enough background on both physics and math except what they used to teach in engineering.So, should I go and complete my phd in EE where I will probably be around 35+ by then and latter part of my life just take physics as hobby? OR should I go for MS in mathematics and then latter phd in physics which will add more couple of year to it.
I saw couple of resume floating in internet where they did Bachelor in EE and did MS and phd in Physics.So, I know this seems possible but at what cost? Somebody wrote do what you like and here I am in complete dilemma state as what to do?

Physics news on Phys.org