Mechanical engineering major problem

In summary, Drew is considering transferring to a school that offers a degree in mechanical engineering, but he is unsure if it is worth it because his school's physics department is also good. He also wants to do hands-on work, and he believes that this is a good fit for a career in engineering. Drew recommends that he look into getting into a research lab as soon as possible.
Drew19
I am currently a freshman getting my undergrad in Physics, but I want to be a mechanical engineer. However, my school does not offer a degree in mechanical engineering. I would consider transferring out, but I have a full ride. The physics department at my school is also fairly good and they offer a lot of undergrad research. I don't know if transferring would be worth it in the long run. Should I just bite the bullet and stay at my school and try to become a mechanical engineer with a physics degree, or should I transfer? also, I really want to do hands on work, building and creating things.

Physics news on Phys.org
Drew19 said:
I am currently a freshman getting my undergrad in Physics, but I want to be a mechanical engineer. However, my school does not offer a degree in mechanical engineering. I would consider transferring out, but I have a full ride. The physics department at my school is also fairly good and they offer a lot of undergrad research. I don't know if transferring would be worth it in the long run. Should I just bite the bullet and stay at my school and try to become a mechanical engineer with a physics degree, or should I transfer? also, I really want to do hands on work, building and creating things.