Masters in Engineering: Should I Pursue an MSc in the UK?

In summary, the author graduated from a small liberal arts college with a BA in Physics. He is applying to graduate school in Aeronautical Engineering and is unsure if he is prepared for the workload. He has a good grasp of mathematics and has experience working with fluids. He is planning on doing his thesis in fluid dynamics, though that could absolutely change once he gets thrown into... everything else that goes along with being a graduate student!
MyWifesABobcat
Hey All

I need some advice

I graduated from a small liberal arts college with a BA in Physics. I dealt with quite a bit in college, and as a result (coupled with my unwillingness to study as much as I should have), I ended up with a 2.8 and pretty much no research experience.

I've applied (and been accepted) into some grad programs in Aeronautical Engineering (M.S.), which is what I had always planned on doing as a career.

However, I'm not quite sure if I'm prepared for graduate school. I'm quite a bit different now than when I was in college, and would definitely say I have a stronger work ethic and goals, but I've never taken any engineering courses besides 1 upper division fluid mechanics course.

On top of all of that, my top choice is in the United Kingdom - a 1 year MSc course (12 months). Will it simply be too much work for someone who hasn't had any experience and, quite frankly, a lousy track record of academic success?

I'd like to stress that I believe in myself, and that I will be a much better and more studious student than I was as an undergrad, but I feel like I may be in over my head here. Any advice or reality checks would be greatly appreciated.

Edit: I'd like to note that I am passionate about aeronautics and aviation, so it wasn't some arbitrary choice. This is what I have always wanted to do.

Physics news on Phys.org
MyWifesABobcat said: