Is Today's Sci-Fi the Blueprint for Tomorrow's Tech?

In summary, Lynn from the Science and Technology industry considers that today's sci-fi could be tomorrow's technology. She points out that while we still do not have FTL travel, energy production to do large scale transformations, or the ability to change matter into food, some of the next advances will come after we learn to generate more energy. She also mentions Arthur C. Clarke, who "invented" geostationary communication satellites before we even had satellites, and Jules Verne, who described a submarine and space travel to the moon in his book "Vingt mille lieues sous les mers". Lastly, Lynn points out that while science fiction, in which physical laws are
lynn
Today's Sci-Fi will be tomorrow's technology?

Lynn here!
I'm a recruitment Consultant for the Science and Technology Industry and we've been having a chat about yesterday's Sci-fi being technology we use today in everyday life! How exciting to consider that today's sci-fi could be the technology of the future!
If anyone has any opinions about this, please feel free to chat with ,me!
L x

Physics news on Phys.org
yeah, I like how the clamshell phones look like Kirk's communicator :-Das for today's sci-fi... well, we still do not have FTL travel, we do not have the energy production to be able to change matter into food or to transform matter on a large scale (particle beam transportation, not Quantum transportation)

I think that the next leap in tech will have to come after we learn to generate massively more amounts of energy because we will need it to do the things that are in sci-fi.

To the extent I'm aware of the history of Sci-Fi I get the impression that very, very little of it gets realized. What happens instead is that we discover how to do other things than those that were predicted, and these different but real advances are never as simple or smoothly operating as the gizmo's in the old books and TV shows.