Is Jackson's Textbook Necessary for Master's Program Success?

In summary, the conversation revolves around the usefulness and applicability of the Jackson textbook in a master's program in physics. Some people believe that the book is necessary for a strong foundation in classical electrodynamics, while others question its relevance to their specific research fields. Some suggest that the book is only useful as a supplement to other textbooks, while others argue that a deeper understanding of the book is necessary for success in various fields such as accelerator physics and electrical engineering.
ptabor
I'm a student in a master's program, and of course I am working through the obligatory Jackson textbook.

I can't help but wonder how useful this is going to be, how applicable. Let's face it, the book does little to further my insight into the actual physics. It's more of a treatise on mathematical methods.

Should I be concerned that my knowledge of physics isn't furthered by this text? if I go on to a ph.d program then I'm certain I'll be seeing this book again, perhaps a second go around would help cement the material?

Has anyone gained a deeper appreciation for the book after actually taking the course?

Physics news on Phys.org
ptabor said:
I'm a student in a master's program, and of course I am working through the obligatory Jackson textbook.

I can't help but wonder how useful this is going to be, how applicable. Let's face it, the book does little to further my insight into the actual physics. It's more of a treatise on mathematical methods.

Should I be concerned that my knowledge of physics isn't furthered by this text? if I go on to a ph.d program then I'm certain I'll be seeing this book again, perhaps a second go around would help cement the material?

Has anyone gained a deeper appreciation for the book after actually taking the course?