Interstellar Movie: What Do You Think?

In summary, some people think the effects in the movie are amazing, while others think the science is questionable. There is a long thread on this forum where the "science" in the movie is utterly trashed because it is so nonsensical.
Razorvox
Hey everyone, relatively new here. Wondering what you think of the trailers for Interstellar. After seeing Gravity, I think I might enjoy this more as it's about exploring vast distances, not a fan of clooney or bullock either. But as far as the effects go, Gravity is going to be "very" tough to beat, not that it really makes a movie better, I just love enjoying the effects as a 3d artist myself. Been looking forward to a good scifi for awhile. What do you think, the box-like robot has me interested enough! :p

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I'm looking forward to it, particularly for the representation of the various planets. The scene in the trailer with the giant wave was quite impressive. Here is one of the trailers for anyone who hasn't seen it yet:

I'm lookin forward to it as well, even though the reviews on RT are not extremely positive.

I'm just glad SciFi in the movies sells at all so we can get that rare gem from time to time. This isn't likely a diamond but a more a decent cubic zirconium - still pretty fiery but the Science will be "woo woo".

enorbet said:
but the Science will be "woo woo".
Not all of it, apparently:
http://www.wired.com/2014/10/astrophysics-interstellar-black-hole/
article said:
In the end, Nolan got elegant images that advance the story. Thorne got a movie that teaches a mass audience some real, accurate science. But he also got something he didn't expect: a scientific discovery. “This is our observational data,” he says of the movie's visualizations. “That's the way nature behaves. Period.” Thorne says he can get at least two published articles out of it.

Likes enorbet
Thank You Bandersnatch, that read was satisfyingly frumious. :P