Distance learning theoretical/mathematical physics

• Thread starter Darktobz
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the conversation revolves around a person who completed a BSc degree in maths and physics 20 years ago, but has since studied and worked in unrelated areas. They have maintained a modest interest in maths and physics and have recently taken a course from the Open University (UK) in maths, which they thoroughly enjoyed. However, they are now looking for something more challenging and substantial, preferably in a physics-based nature, but have not been able to find anything suitable. They are open to paying reasonable fees for a course that would provide personal enjoyment, but do not necessarily need a qualification. The conversation also includes mentions of studying physics, math, and chemistry at the OU in Israel, and the challenges of studying alone without the support of study
Darktobz
Hi All

I completed a BSc degree in maths & physics just over 20 years ago. Since then I have studied and worked in unrelated areas but also kept a modest interest in maths and physics up and also done a couple of free online courses with the MOOCs (EdX and Coursera). Last year I decided I wanted to have a go at something more challenging and substantial so I took a course from the Open University (UK) MSc in maths (calculus of variations). I have thoroughly enjoyed it and learned much more from being "pushed" through the material than I would have done off my own back.