Yoga as Both a Spiritual and Physical Exercise

In summary: The use of yoga in addition to basic stretches could be beneficial in increasing the range of motion and flexibility in the body.
courtrigrad
Hello all

This is my first time posting in the Philosophy Forums. Nice to meet you all! I was wondering whether any of you practice yoga (Hatha, Ashtanga, Iyengar etc..) What are your opinions about its effects on the human mind and body. I myself have benefited a lot from the practice

Physics news on Phys.org
I've done a few months of yoga, a few years ago, and infrequently since then. As I remember, it increased my circulation and body awareness and reduced physical tension, all on a short term basis. Of course, flexibility also increased on a medium term basis. I haven't practiced it enough to find out what the long-term effects are.

I took several yoga classes and I loved it. Not sure if this really belongs in philosophy however. I doubt that many will get too philosophical about this excercise at least here.

I used to practice yoga meditation years ago and found it very beneficial both, the physical exercises, and the meditation. I was also living in the mountains and spent a lot of time in natural settings. So I'm not sure how much was due to the yoga and how much was due to being in a secluded setting. :smile:

I still pretty much live in the sticks. I don't do yoga anymore, because I've become a lazy bum in my old age. :biggrin:

I'm sure that the exercises would probably do me well. I don't know if the meditation would do much good for me now though. I don't listen to TV or the radio much at all. It's pretty quiet here, I can hear my wall clock ticking away the time and my computer fan is probably the loudest noise in my house. :wink:

I just noticed that it's 4:30. I wonder what that means?