Year 10 Work Exp: Questions for University Placement

In summary, a year 10 student from a grammar school in North Yorkshire is planning to apply for work experience at a university. They are interested in observing current research into theoretical or particle physics, but this is a difficult position to obtain for even college students. The expert suggests that until gaining sufficient mathematical expertise, a research position is unlikely. They recommend reading popular physics books and continuing to learn A.S. level physics. When applying for work experience, they suggest considering positions with academic staff or teaching staff and also express interest in observing higher level physics being taught.
Ryanzmw
Hey, I'm a year 10 student at a grammar school in North Yorkshire and am planning to apply for work experience at a Univerisity, but I have a few questions:
Who should I apply to e.g. Academic staff, teaching staff, Emeritus & Research Professors or research staff.
And just so you know I would like ideally to be in a placement where I would be able to observe current research into theoretical or particle physics.

Physics news on Phys.org
It would be incredibly difficult to have a position in which you'd be able to consistently observe current particle physics research. That's a position that many undergrad college students would love to have. Most college students would only be able to have data type positions or something basically involving crunching preliminary numbers, so for a high school student to be able to observe current research...that seems very unlikely. You have to think about it like this: Any college student with interests in particle physics would love to hold a position like the one you described, yet many of them can't...what would give you an edge over such applicants?