Worries of a High School Junior

In summary, the conversation discusses a high school student's concerns about their readiness for a physics major in college and eventual pursuit of a PhD in physics. The general consensus is that the student's current level of knowledge and experience is adequate and they should focus on learning at their own pace. Some resources for further studies are suggested. The student also asks about the practicality of pursuing a career in physics and whether they should consider a second major in engineering. It is noted that the job market may be limited, but the student's target colleges and their respective programs are discussed. Ultimately, it is concluded that having a BA instead of a BS in physics will not negatively impact their graduate school application.
zcd
Hi physicsforums, this is my first time posting here, but I've lurked here and there before. While reading over a lot of the threads, I noticed how some people advised to not rush the learning process and to take things as they come, but at the same time I see a lot of other high school students probing deeply into very high level math and physics like PDE's or quantum theory. My question is: if I want to major in physics during college and eventually move onto graduate school to pursue a PhD in physics, where on the spectrum should I be at right now?

I wouldn't describe my mathematics background as shallow, because I'm currently excelling in my school's AP Calculus BC course. But at the same time I have to admit that I find mathematics here less than satisfying, because there has been almost no emphasis placed on proofing since geometry back in middle school. Should I be very knowledgeable of how to proof by the time I enter college? If so, where can I find resources to build this skill? I have checked my local library, but none of the mathematics books there help in this specific area.

Thank you for your time.

Physics news on Phys.org