Wires and resistance heating questions

In summary, increasing the resistance of wires can affect power transfer, signal levels, voltage levels, etc.
Zach Richmond
Hey everyone,

I had a few questions about resistance of wires and heating. I'm a materials engineer looking to replace traditional copper with something more lightweight, however, the alternatives have high resistance. For comparison say copper wire has .01 ohm/ft the other material could be 1 ohm/ft.

What would the heat given off by the new material? Would it give off too much? Assuming 14V potential. Also, will higher resistance affect signals sent along the wire? Any other issues using a higher resistance material?

Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
If the resistance is R per meter, and the current is I amps, then the power per meter is I*I*R joules per second.

The only voltage that matters is the voltage difference between the two ends of the wire, not the voltage relative to ground.

Needless to say, wire sizes are picked based on resistance so a hundredfold increase in resistance is a big issue.

Signals can be sent through high resistance materials. Sending power is more of a problem.

Most electrical engineering tricks are built around the large difference in conductivity between conductors and insulators. Thus we tend to think in these terms. But with a little work, I suspect we could find ways around the higher resistance of your material.

Is your material clear at any frequencies the way fiber optics are clear at light frequencies? If so it might work as a waveguide at those frequencies.

Aluminum is only about 60% worse than copper in terms of resistivity, and is much more lightweight. There are issues with dealing with the oxide layer that forms on aluminum, but these can be overcome, so aluminum is often used as a conductor in applications where weight and cost are important.

Zach - your post is very vague... do you want more resistance or less? What Signals - etc...