What is the formula for calculating resistance in a 1km copper wire?

• Thread starter Enochfoul
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Resistance
In summary, the formula to calculate the resistance of a 1km length of 0.6mm diameter copper wire is: ##R = \rho \frac{(L/\pi D^2)}{4}##.
Enochfoul
Hi,

I am just starting out learning about DC curcuits and I have been presented with a formula in my learning materials to calculate the resistance of a 1km length of 0.6mm diameter copper wire.

The formula is attached as an image with the Answer 60Ω

My question is how would you enter this formula into a calculator as I can't seem to get the answer 60. Do I have to set the calulator to a specific setting? do we I have to break the calculation into different stages?

I don't know whether the format of my notes is messed up or its just me doing something wrong.

Thanks for the help

Attachments

• Example 2.jpg
    Example 2.jpg
    14.1 KB · Views: 408
Likes ProfuselyQuarky
Engineering news on Phys.org
I believe that it's a matter of order of operation (you know, putting parentheses in the proper places). I punched in the values and got 60.1252--which is the correct answer rounded.

How did you do it? Could you post what you typed into the calculator?

ProfuselyQuarky said:
How did you do it? Could you post what you typed into the calculator?

Attachments

• 20160331_210320.jpg
    20160331_210320.jpg
    28.7 KB · Views: 348
  • 20160331_210344.jpg
    20160331_210344.jpg
    29.5 KB · Views: 359
That's odd. I did the same thing. This is basic arithmetic, so calculator settings should not really matter. What answer did you get? I see that your calculator is in degrees, but radians vs. degrees doesn't matter here at all. What are you're other settings?

ProfuselyQuarky said: