Windows or Ubuntu for an Electric Engineering student?

In summary, Windows XP is unsupported, and Ubuntu is a good way to learn other operating systems. At my school, the EE department mostly uses XP, but I'm encouraged to use Ubuntu for robotics projects. It depends on what you want to do.
SuperMiguel
Im an Electric Engineers student and I am trying to decide to use Windows XP or Ubuntu.. Most of the programs i need will run in both if not wine will do...

What do you guys think?

System has a quadcore CPU, 2TB HD and 16gb of ram.. (I know kinda overkill but i got it for free)

Computer science news on Phys.org
Find out what your department uses and go from there?

You shouldn't use XP 'cause it's unsupported and ubuntu is a good way to learn other operating systems, but at least at my school the EE department mostly uses XP and I'm stuck encouraging ubuntu for robotics projects.

story645 said:
Find out what your department uses and go from there?

You shouldn't use XP 'cause it's unsupported and ubuntu is a good way to learn other operating systems, but at least at my school the EE department mostly uses XP and I'm stuck encouraging ubuntu for robotics projects.

they use windows xp :(

Why not dual boot?

zpconn said:
Why not dual boot?

i guess i could do that

SuperMiguel said:
i guess i could do that
Or use a vm since you've got enough gigs for it. Use the OS you want to stick with as the host and throw the experimental os on the vm.

Last edited:
story645 said:
Or use a vm since you've got enough gigs for it.

whats a better host for vms ubuntu or windows??

Ubuntu linux will be a smarter choose as for robotics and other hardware interfacing stuff … you will realize linux has tons of source code available …. and parallel or serial interface in linux systems is easier if you try ..that in windows … you have to go through elaborate NT kernel apis to do so .. or if you could use some libraries in VB.