Why Professional Physicists Are Proud of Their Profession

In summary: So, in summary, professional physicists are those who have formally registered with a professional organization, while amateur physicists may be those with expertise in a particular field, but not registered with a professional organization. This is more common in jobs with a public safety concern like engineering or chemistry, whereas physicists tend not to be directly involved in the final design of things. Additionally, while it is important to leave the field open to those outside the establishment, perhaps the most brilliant mathematician alive is a rather private chap who lives with his mum in St Petersburg and works all on his own.
Rajini
Hello all,

why physicists are proud to say that they are 'professional physicist'?? Also physicist are dare and bare to say that they don't know chemistry as well as i am not a chemist!
But i rarely notice scientists saying ' i am a professional chemist'??..

why so?

Physics news on Phys.org
Dunno.

I'm an amateur physicist, fwiw. :D

Rajini said:
But i rarely notice scientists saying ' i am a professional chemist'??..
It tends to be the other way around. In a lot of countries some professions are protected - you can't just call yourself an engineer or chemist, just like you can't call yourself a doctor or lawyer.

This is more common in jobs with a public safety concern like engineering or chemistry, physicists tend not to be directly involved in the final design of things so professional physics registration isn't as common.

I think people say "professional physicist" more to distinguish themselves from academic physicists - ie. they are saying that they work in industry or industrial research.

Last edited:
Okay, yes absolutely you can't call doctor or lawyer (without getting degree in those areas)..

Rajini said:
Okay, yes absolutely you can't call doctor or lawyer (without getting degree in those areas)..
I think there are two things here.