Why is zero both singular and plural?

• MHB
  • Thread starter Petrus
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Zero
In summary: Incidentally, if you add one zero to another, do you get (a) an orgi, (b) a whole lot of nothing, or (c) as confused as I am...?(Hug)In summary, Petrus, native English speakers make the same mistake of saying "I got zero cats". This is incorrect because cats are denumerable. If you say "I got zero cats", you are talking about a hypothetical acquisition of cats, in which you did not succeed. Alternatively, you could use the singular "I have zero cats".
Petrus
Hello MHB,
I Was woundering WHY is zero in plural? Exemple "I got zero cats". What do you think?

Regards,
\(\displaystyle |\pi\rangle\)

Mathematics news on Phys.org
I am no expert but I would say that the original statement is "I got zero number of cats" . Someone with experience in linguistics might help ,though.

Petrus said:
Hello MHB,
I Was woundering WHY is zero in plural? Exemple "I got zero cats". What do you think?

Regards,

If you are trying to express the fact that you do not have any cats, then the correct English would be "I have zero cats", or even better: "I have no cats". Alternatively, you could use the singular here and say, "I have no cat." It is incorrect to say "I got zero cat", because cats are denumerable. If you say, "I got zero cats", then you are talking about a hypothetical acquisition of cats, in which you did not succeed. It is incorrect to say "I got zero cats" if you really mean that you do not presently have any cats. You will often hear "I've got no cats". That is not quite as correct as some other suggestions, but it is colloquial.

With language, most of the time, the answer to why anything is the way it is is simply convention. Why is English spelling the mess that it is? Convention. Why are there so many exceptions to rules in English? Convention.