Why Is a Given State an Eigenstate of Field Operators in Quantum Field Theory?

In summary: Because that's how we're defining the state |\phi_1\rangle. We're trying to pick out the state in the Hilbert space that, when you hit it with the field operator at any position x, will give you an eigenvalue equal to the c-number \phi(x).
chientewu
Hi,

I am studying Peskin's An Introduction To Quantum Field Theory. On the beginning of page 284, the authors say We can turn the field [itex]\phi_S(x_1)|\phi_1\rangle=\phi_1(x_1)|\phi_1\rangle[/itex]. I tried hard to prove this relation but still can't get it right. Could anyone give me some hints? Thanks.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
It's a bit strangely formulated. The generalized kets [itex]|\varphi \rangle[/itex] are defined as generalized eigenstates of the field operators (here in the Schrödinger picture of time evolution), i.e.,
[tex]\hat{\phi}_S(\vec{x}_1) |\varphi \rangle = \varphi(x) |\varphi \rangle.[/tex]
Note that [itex]\hat{\phi}_S[/itex] is a field operator in the Schrödinger picture while [itex]\varphi[/itex] is a (complex or real-valued, depending on whether you describe charged or strictly neutral scalar bosons) c-number field.

Last edited:
Likes Holophagus
vanhees71 said:
Note that [tex]\hat{\phi}_S[/itex] is a field operator in the Schrödinger picture while [itex]\varphi[/itex] is a (complex or real-valued, depending on whether you describe charged or strictly neutral scalar bosons) c-number field.
This is difficult to read. Please format your LaTeX correctly, or use UTF. :wink:

Bill_K said:
This is difficult to read. Please format your LaTeX correctly, or use UTF. :wink:

Done (butt no UTF, which is hard to read either ;-)).

vanhees71 said:
It's a bit strangely formulated. The generalized kets [itex]|\varphi \rangle[/itex] are defined as generalized eigenstates of the field operators (here in the Schrödinger picture of time evolution), i.e.,